Breakfast Bran Muffins

IMG_4862
For someone who is not a big muffin fan, I seem to have an awful lot of posts about muffins of late. Of all the muffins, in all the world, bran muffins used to be my WORST. In a “No thank you, I would rather sit here starving and watch you eat” kind of way. Yet here I am, posting about the most delicious bran muffins. A changed woman. Is it a sign I’m getting old? If so, I’m okay with that. Bran muffins with jam and cheese and strong coffee is my current breakfast favourite. I’m also lazy in the morning and I occasionally (often) drink too much wine the night before, so having some of these little guys in the freezer is a quick and easy answer to both of the above. For those of you who are strongly against sultanas in food (you know I know who you are), I guess you can just leave them out. But they won’t be as good…

Breakfast Bran Muffins

*adapted from the Hummingbird Bakery ‘Cake Days’
 
375ml wholemeal flour
200ml rolled oats
300ml digestive bran
80ml sultanas
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
pinch of salt
120g light brown sugar
250ml milk
2 eggs
85ml butter
*20g sunflower seeds
Preheat the oven to 170°C. In a large bowl, combine the flour, oats, bran, sultanas, salt and sugar, and give it a mix with a spoon so that the dry ingredients are  nicely amalgamated. Okay, confession – I don’t really know what ‘rolled oats’ is. I use regular Jungle Oats. None of this ‘quick cook’ nonsense, just plain old oats. And it worked fine. Then add the baking powder and bicarbonate of soda, and give it another quick stir or two. I always add the baking powder and bicarb last (of the dry ingredients) so that they don’t get too over-stirred and lose any of their oomph. Not very scientific, but there you go.
Measure out the milk in a measuring jug, and then add the two eggs. Beat them together briefly with a fork or whisk and add to the dry ingredients. Beat on a low speed with an electric mixer until the mixture comes together. Melt the butter and beat it in briefly until it’s incorporated. Taa-dah, it’s ready! You can at this point (or earlier) add the sunflower seeds. I didn’t add them, but only because I forgot to buy them. Oops. I think they would be a great addition.
Fill muffin cases about two-thirds full. I made 18 muffins with this batter – it might depend a bit on how big your muffin cases and trays are, but aim for somewhere in that region. Bake them for 15min until they are lightly browned, and then cool on  a wire rack. Serve warm with grated cheese and strawberry jam – yum! Pop the leftovers in the freezer for another morning.
 
Leave a Reply

