Banana and Cinnamon Muffins with Chocolate Chips

IMG_4132
Wow, so it’s been a really long time since I’ve posted anything. I apologise, but it’s not my fault – I have been too busy snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef and gallivanting around Australia to be cooking up a storm. A pretty good excuse, I think. But I am back home now and getting back into the kitchen. I’m not really a sweet muffin person, but these Banana and Cinnamon Muffins are an exception. You can make them with or without the chocolate chips, but I see no reason why you’d make them without the little melted bits of happiness. And because they have banana in them, I feel like they are a perfectly respectable breakfast food. Not that respectability has ever been a requirement for me for breakfast. If I had my way, I would eat dessert for breakfast every day.

Banana and Cinnamon Muffins with Chocolate Chips

 *from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook
 
350g flour
1/2 tsp salt
1.5 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
160g castor sugar
375ml plain yoghurt
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla essence
70g butter, melted
400g peeled banana, mashed
2 x 90g slabs dark chocolate, chopped
Preheat the oven to 170°C. Add the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and cinnamon to a large bowl, and stir to combine. Mix the egg, yoghurt, and vanilla together in jug. Pour the yoghurt mixture into the dry ingredients, slowly, and beat on a low speed until they are combined. Add the melted butter and beat again. Stir in the mashed bananas (400g is about 4 peeled bananas, give or take) and chopped chocolate.
Spoon the mixture into muffin cases placed inside a 12-hole muffin tray, and sprinkle the tops with a little extra cinnamon and castor sugar. If you like neat, well-contained muffins, fill the cases about half/ two-thirds full. If you, like me, like muffins that exuberantly spill over the sides of their paper cases, then fill them about three-quarters full. I normally make about 16, I think. Coloured and patterned paper cases are fun, but they tend to lose a lot of their colour/pattern once they have a muffin baked inside them. So I like the foil cases. Shiny and opaque.

Bake for about 25min until the muffins are lightly browned, and then cool them on a wire rack. These muffins also freeze really well, so pop some in the freezer for another time, and then microwave them when you have a craving. They are best served warm, because the chocolate will be all melty inside. YUM.

Leave a Reply

